A partnership between Texas A&M AgriLife Extension and the Rio Grande Valley

The Rio Grande Valley is known for its ranching history, but one can argue that agriculture is also an important part of South Texas history. Although agriculture is not operating at the scale as it was once in the 1900s, there are still a few areas around the Valley where one can see the agriculture industry at work. Ashley Gregory from the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension will share her knowledge about this topic. Gregory will present, “Advancing Agriculture: Texas A&M and the Rio Grande Valley” on Sunday, Oct. 14, at 2 p.m. at the Museum of South Texas History.

In October 1923, a representative from Agricultural and Mechanical College from College Station sent a telegram to Rio Grande Valley farmers that explained an experiment station would be established to conduct scientific research on local crops. Originally known as Substation No. 15, it was the place where research began immediately on root rot, freezes, salty irrigation water and marketing campaigns of the region. Through research, the Rio Grande Valley developed a rich history of solving some of the toughest problems in agriculture and the capacity to produce unique but flavorful varieties of sugarcane, onions and grapefruit. Gregory’s presentation will also highlight the research of other crops such as cotton.

Gregory, a native of Edinburg, earned an undergraduate degree in Agriculture Business from Texas State University in San Marcos. She joined Texas A&M AgriLife Extension in 2008 as a field technician at the District Research and Extension Center in Weslaco. While working with the center, Gregory earned a master’s degree in Plant and Soil Science from Texas A&M University – Kingsville. In 2015, she was hired as the County Extension Agent for Horticulture with Texas A&M AgriLife Extension serving Hidalgo County.

Sunday Speaker Series is included in the fee for regular museum admission. FRIENDS of the MOSTHistory are admitted free as a benefit of FRIENDship and must provide their FRIENDship upon entrance.

This program is made possible with generous support from the Carmen C. Guerra Endowment. Mrs. Guerra was deeply committed to supporting educational opportunities in the Rio Grande Valley. This named endowment was created at the museum by her family to honor her memory and to continue her commitment to providing opportunities for education to the community.

About Museum of South Texas History
The Museum of South Texas History is accredited by the American Alliance of Museums. It is located in downtown Edinburg at 200 North Closner Boulevard on the Hidalgo County Courthouse square. Hours of operation are from 1 p.m.–5 p.m. Sunday and 10 a.m.–5 p.m. Tuesday–Saturday. Founded in 1967 as the Hidalgo County Historical Museum in the 1910 Hidalgo County Jail, the museum has grown over the decades through a series of expansions to occupy a full city block. In 2003, following the completion of a 22,500 square foot expansion, the museum was renamed the Museum of South Texas History to better reflect its regional scope. Today, the museum preserves and presents the borderland heritage of South Texas and Northeastern Mexico through its permanent collection and the Margaret H. McAllen Memorial Archives and exhibits spanning prehistory through the 20th century. For more information about MOSTHistory, including becoming a FRIEND, visit MOSTHistory.org, like us on Facebook, follow on Twitter, find on Google+ or call +1-956-383-6911.